Diocesan Departments

One thing I ask of the Lord. This I long to dwell in the house of the Lord,
all the days of my life.

Diocesan Departments

Rev. Msgr. Michael Kalu
Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Anya
Rector, Spiritual Year Seminary (Ex. Officio)
Rector, Immaculate Conception Seminary (Ex. Officio)

Rev. Fr. Donatus Okpokpo (Advocate)
Rev. Msgr Nicholas Nwagwu (Advocate)
Rev. Fr. Paschal Opara (Advocate)
Rev. Fr. Hilary Ochulor (Advocate)
Rev. Fr. Michael Ukah (Advocate)
Rev. Fr. Paschal O. Opara (Tribunal Personnel)
Rev. Fr. Kingsley Eze (Tribunal Personnel)
Rev. Fr. Peter Okafor (Notary)
Rev. Fr. Donatus A. Okon (Collegiate Judge)
Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Uwanuruochi (Judge)
Rev. Sr. Gerald Nwagwu (Judge)
Rev. Fr. Augustine Kanu ( Judicial Vicar/Collegiate Judge)

Rev. Fr. Dr. Aloysius Nwabekee
Rev. Fr. Dr. Austin Kanu
Rev. Fr. Dr. Leo Amafili
Rev. Fr. Dr. Benedict Okike
Rev. Fr. Dr. Onyema Anozie

Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Anya
Rev. Fr. Dr. Jude Ogbuanu (Secretary)

Bishop’s House
P. O Box 99, Umuahia Abia State


Most Rev. Lucius I. Ugorji (President)

Most Rev. Michael Kalu Ukpong (Vicar General I)

Rev. Fr. Gabriel Kalu (Vicar General II)
Rev. Fr. Henry Maduka (Diocesan Secretary)

Rev. Fr. Vitus Eke (Financial Administrator) 
Prof. Sir C. C. Chinaka (Chairman) 
Mag. Ijechi Nnaji (Vice Chairman)

Sir O. J. Bob Amanze (Secretary)

Mrs Tina Ikwuegbu (Assistant Secretary)



Msgr. John Loyd Ukaegbu 60th Priestly Anniversary

Date: 2022-07-29 -

There will be a diocesan celebration for the 60th Priestly Anniversary of the first ordained Catholic Priest in the diocese of Umuahia, Monsignor John Loyd Ukaegbu, on the 29th of July 2022 at Mater Dei Cathedral, beginning with the celebration of the Holy Eucharist by 10am. Other activities will follow at the Jubilee hall immediately after the Mass.

There are vocations which manifest themselves. They must be fostered! There are vocations which dare not manifest. They must be found and encouraged! Please make a donation today by clicking the button below.
Support Us

Admininstrator Sign In

About Us

logoThe Diocese of Umuahia was erected on June 23, 1958 with Most Rev. Anthony Gogo Nwaedo C.S.Sp. as its first Bishop and Most Rev Lucius Iwejuru Ugorji as the second Bishop. The diocese was carved out from the then Diocese of Owerri. Since its inception, two other dioceses: Okigwe (1981) and Aba (1990) have been excised from it. Its present area of about 2,460.40km2 spans six Local Government Areas: Umuahia North, Umuahia South, Ikwuano, Bende, Ohafia and Arochukwu.

Contact Us

  • umuahiabishopsec@gmail.com
  • vicargeneral@umuahiadiocese.org
  • 088-220364, 222259, 08035080682.
  • Diocesan secretariat, 57 Azikwe Road, P.O Box 99, Umuahia. Abia State, Nigeria.