Diocesan Committees

One thing I ask of the Lord. This I long to dwell in the house of the Lord,
all the days of my life.

Diocesan Committees


  1. Vicar General - Very Rev. Fr. Gabriel Kalu

  2. Diocesan Secretary (Moderator of Curia) - Rev. Fr. Michael Ukpong

  3. PASTORAL AFFAIRS- Rev. Fr. Augustine Kanu
    1. Pastoral Liturgical - Rev. Fr. Aloysius Nwabekee
                                     - Rev. Fr. Justin Iweha (Asst.)
    2. Religion Education/Catechetical - Rev. Fr. Gabriel Okoko
    3. Pilgrimages - Rev. Fr. Michael Ukah
    4. Canon Law/Synods - Rev. Fr. Augustine Kanu
    5. Inculturation - Rev. Fr. Hilary Ochulor
    6. Theology - Rev. Fr. Clement Kalu

  4. PASTORAL AGENTS- Rev. Msgr. Peter Nkedife
    1. Clergy - Rev. Msgr. Peter Nkedife
    2. Seminarians - Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Anya
    3. Interns - Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Anya
    4. Religious Committees - Rev. Fr. …………
    5. Laity Committee - Rev. Fr. James Abosike

  5. CHURCH AND SOCIETY- Rev. Fr. Paschal Obioma Opara
    1. Justice Development & Peace - Rev. Fr. Paschal Okechukwu Opara
                                                        - Rev. Fr. Daniel Osuji (Asst.)
    2. Health/ HIV AIDS - Rev. Fr. Christian Anokwuru
    3. Family & Human Life - Rev. Fr. Benjamin Ogbu
    4. Education - Rev. Fr. Charles Kanu
                        - Rev. Fr. Paschal Obioma Opara (Asst.)
    5. Caritas Office - Rev. Fr. Damian Okoye

  6. MISSION AND DIOLOGUE- Rev. Fr. Jude Ogbuanu
    1. Inter–Religious Dialogue - Rev. Fr. Jude Ogbuanu
    2. Ecumenism - Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Uwanuruochi
    3. Pontifical Mission Society - Rev. Fr. Donatus Okpokpo
    4. Holy Childhood - Rev. Sr. Josephine Nwajiagu DDL
    5. Pontifical Society for Propagation of Faith - Rev. Fr. Christopher Nwachukwu
    6. Pontifical Society for Peter Apostle - Rev. Fr. Chukwudi Anya
    7. Pontifical Missionary Union (PMU) - Rev. Fr. Donatus Okpokpo





Date: 2022-09-08 - 2022-09-10

The Catholic Diocese of Umuahia wishes to invite everyone to join in celebrating "THE NATIVITY OF OUR BLESSED VIRGIN MARY"   From Thursday 8th to Saturday 10th of September 2022.   Venue: Mater Dei Cathedral at Marian shrine.   Time: 4:30pm on Thursday and Friday.   Saturday (Grand finale) - 9:00am

There are vocations which manifest themselves. They must be fostered! There are vocations which dare not manifest. They must be found and encouraged! Please make a donation today by clicking the button below.
Support Us

Admininstrator Sign In

About Us

logoThe Diocese of Umuahia was erected on June 23, 1958 with Most Rev. Anthony Gogo Nwaedo C.S.Sp. as its first Bishop and Most Rev Lucius Iwejuru Ugorji as the second Bishop. The diocese was carved out from the then Diocese of Owerri. Since its inception, two other dioceses: Okigwe (1981) and Aba (1990) have been excised from it. Its present area of about 2,460.40km2 spans six Local Government Areas: Umuahia North, Umuahia South, Ikwuano, Bende, Ohafia and Arochukwu.

Contact Us

  • umuahiabishopsec@gmail.com
  • vicargeneral@umuahiadiocese.org
  • 088-220364, 222259, 08035080682.
  • Diocesan secretariat, 57 Azikwe Road, P.O Box 99, Umuahia. Abia State, Nigeria.